Creating the me3saves database (MAJOR ME3 spoilers)

Discuss the Mass Effect games here. Please use spoiler tags!

Creating the me3saves database (MAJOR ME3 spoilers)

Postby Annakie » March 13th, 2012, 10:34 am

Excuse my word-vomit in this post but I'm trying to sort out a lot of things.

Since I finished the game, I've been trying to wrap my head around how the ME3 database needs to look. First up, I'm not a programmer, a friend of mine does the programming itself but I still need to design what the thing looks like.

There are just so many variables. SO MANY. I've only played through once so I don't know them all, so I need some help from the rest of you. I don't think anyone even has a list up of everything that imports from ME2 yet, alone all the stuff from ME3 that effects other things that could be important.

I'm sure there are people who can die that I don't know about and people who died for me who can live and... argh. There are now even important things in ME1 that we didn't realize would matter much in ME3 that DO. Little things like if you have the Elkoss Combine license count towards GAW score. And there are so many ways things can be different just coming in from ME2 not to mention all the hundreds of ways things can change as you go along in ME3.

So I thought I'd ask for help with ideas for creating this thing that will make sure the most important decisions are taken care of and what just needs to be in the text box because it's too complex for checkboxes and drop down lists. And I don't want too many of those, the text box field is just going to have to cover more stuff at this point because there's so many ways that so many things could have happened. I need to figure out what is the most important things that can be checkboxes/drop downs and what needs to be text fields.